Official Code of Georgia Annotated

TITLE 10. COMMERCE AND TRADE

CHAPTER 1. SELLING AND OTHER TRADE PRACTICES
ARTICLE 14. SECONDARY METALS RECYCLERS

§ 10-1-359.5. Required information from secondary metals
recyclers; role of Georgia Bureau of Investigation

(a) Each secondary metals recycler shall provide to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or its
designee for each purchase transaction which takes place on or after July 1, 2015, all of the
information required by subsection (a) of Code Section 10-1-353, except for the amount of
consideration given in a purchase transaction for the regulated metal property specified in paragraph
(5) of subsection (a) of such Code section. A secondary metals recycler who maintains on file with
the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or its designee a copy of the statement forms such secondary
metals recycler requires each seller to sign pursuant to paragraphs (6) and (7) of subsection (a) of
Code Section 10-1-353 may satisfy the requirements of such paragraphs by providing to the Georgia
Bureau of Investigation or its designee a copy of the individual seller's signature and shall not be
required to provide the actual statement signed by each seller, provided the actual statements are
maintained by the secondary metals recycler pursuant to subsection (b) of Code Section 10-1-353
and available for inspection pursuant to Code Section 10-1-354. The information required to be
provided by the secondary metals recyclers to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation ar its designee
pursuant to this subsection shall be provided electronically.

(b) The Georgia Bureau of Investigation or its designee shall establish and maintain a data base of
all information required to be provided pursuant to subsection (a) of this Code section. Such
information shall be considered to be a trade secret and shall be exempt from disclosure under the
provisions of Article 4 of Chapter 18 of Title 50; provided, however, that such exemption shall not
relieve the secondary metals recycler of the obligation or requirement to provide such information to
the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or its designee.

(c) The data base shall be accessible and searchable by:

(1) All law enforcement agencies in this state; and

(2) Employees of electric suppliers, as defined in Code Section 46-3-3, and employees of
telecommunications companies, as defined in Code Section 46-5-162, provided that such
employees have been certified by the Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council as
having successfully completed the course of training required by Chapter 8 of Title 35, the "Georgia
Peace Officer Standards and Training Act."

(d)

(1) It shall be unlawful to use the data base established pursuant to subsection (b) of this Code
section for any purpose other than the investigation of an alleged crime.

(2) Any person who violates or conspires to violate paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be guilty of
a felony and, upon conviction, shall receive the following punishment:

(A) Upon a first conviction, imprisonment for not less than one nor more than five years or a fine of
not more than $5,000.00, or both; or

(B) Upon a second or subsequent conviction, imprisonment for not less than five nor more than ten
years or a fine of not more than $40,000.00, or both.

{e) The Georgia Bureau of Investigation shall promulgate rules and regulations and establish
procedures necessary to carry into effect, implement, and enforce the provisions of this Code




section and ensure compliance with applicable federal and state laws. Such rules and regulations
shall include, but shall not be limited to:

(1) The time, manner, and method of the transmittal of the information by the secondary metals
recyclers to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation;

(2) The manner and method by which employees of electric suppliers and telecommunications
companies may access and search the data base and any prerequisites thereto; and

(3) The specific information the employees of the electric suppliers and telecommunications
companies may access and search within the data base.

History

Code 1981, § 10-1-359.5, enacted by Ga. L. 2012, p. 112, § 2-1/HB 872; Ga. L. 2015, p. 588, §
6/HB 461.
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